Category Archives: databases

JoVE Unlimited: 12,000+ science education and research videos

The Library has begun a full JoVE Unlimited subscription. This provides our staff and students with full access to more than 12,000 science and engineering videos, via: Science Education – videos for learning and teaching the theory and practice of … Continue reading

Posted in biology & biochemistry, chemistry, databases, doctoral students, electrical engineering, engineering & design, health, journals, mechanical engineering, new resources, pharmacy & pharmacology, physics, research, Science, staff news | Leave a comment

How to access Library resources from home (off-campus)

While measures are in place to prevent the spread of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), the Library has suspended face to face services and shifted towards online provision of services. The Library building is now closed to library users. Full list … Continue reading

Posted in catalogue, computers, databases, e-books, journals, website | Leave a comment

Artfilms Digital trial access – stream films online until 30 April 2020

We have set up free trial access to the Artfilms Digital Collection so as to gauge interest and potential demand for this product. They offer educational institutions a choice of DVDs or subscription streaming for thousands of videos across a … Continue reading

Posted in databases, new resources | Leave a comment

Database of the month: Statista

On Level 5 of the library we are featuring Statista  as the ‘database of the month’. Pay us a visit to check out the information and freebies: bags, pens, notebooks and drinking containers. Update: the notebooks and drinking containers have proved … Continue reading

Posted in databases, economics, health, management, social and policy sciences | Leave a comment

While You Were Away: New Library guides for Information and Research Skills

This is the second in a series of post to let you know about key Library developments  while you were away over the summer. The Library has developed 6 new Library guides to help you develop your information and research skills … Continue reading

Posted in databases, website | Leave a comment

New architecture journals database: Avery Index

The Library has begun a subscription to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. This electronic database enables you to search for articles from across 325 current and 3,080 retrospective architecture journals from around the world. Avery Index, founded in 1934, … Continue reading

Posted in databases, engineering & design, journals | Leave a comment

The Economist Historical Archive

We are pleased to announce that you now have access to The Economist Historical Archive. You can access this digitised archive by searching the library catalogue, or you can access it directly by clicking here. For over 170 years, the Economist has reported … Continue reading

Posted in databases, economics, management, new resources, polis | Leave a comment

JISC Geospatial Data service now available for UK maps and spatial data

JISC developed this new mapping and spatial data service with Airbus. Until July 2020 they are making it available for free to the FE/HE community in the UK. It makes available current and historic Ordnance Survey maps and data (including … Continue reading

Posted in databases, doctoral students, engineering & design, new resources, postgraduates, website | Leave a comment

New resources: books, databases, journals and more!

We hope you enjoyed Inter-Semester Break and are now back in the groove for the new Semester! Here are some highlights of new and recently added Library resources, as well as some general updates since Autumn that may have passed … Continue reading

Posted in databases, e-books, engineering & design, humanities & social sciences, journals, management, new resources, Science, space, uncategorized, website | Leave a comment

Interoperability and Discoverability: An Overview of the Research Publication Systems we use at the University of Bath

A recurring theme across all of the work that takes place in Library Research Services is interoperability. A key system we use across the team is Pure.  We work closely with colleagues in the University Research Office (RIS) to use … Continue reading

Posted in catalogue, databases, doctoral students, open access, postgraduates, publications, Pure, REF, research, Research Portal | Leave a comment